Hair Today… Gone Tomorrow

So yesterday was an important day for us… it was Ganga Dussehra as per the Hindu calendar and I had been waiting for this day the whole year… why you may ask?! Well, they say or rather Hindus believe in some parts of the country that if you trim your hair or shave your head on this day (read kids) you get long flowing hair like the River Goddess Ganga 🙂 Also, the tonsuring had to be done before the child was 18 months old… so I chose this day for my little girl 🙂

Before :-)

While initially the idea was to hold a puja and homa on this day after her mundan, but last minute changes meant that I would just get this done in a parlour purely for santitation and hygiene reasons, and hold the puja some other time. It kind of helped me a bit since I was down with a bad back muscle pull and I was hurting a lot.

So we drove down to the parlour and then all hell seemed to break loose :-/ Moina is very sensitive to new places and new faces and she somehow gets the freaky vibes on seeing tools and instruments that in no way resemble toys or things to play with … And thats when the BAWLING started… She cried and cried and cried and we just had to get over with it as safely as we could…amidst all her teary eyed pleas… and when that was done… the look of the child was just the most adorable ever.

She had tempered down, calmed a bit on my shoulders and held on to her father all the while and then when she looked at herself in the mirror, she SMILED 🙂

After :-)

So now I have a Little Buddha roaming around the house… she ignores all questions that are directed towards her head or hair 🙂 but she is loving it … she lies down on the floor and feels the coldness of the floor with her baldy head 🙂 She is starting to get two more teeth and that will bring up the count to six teeth in all 🙂 She is talking a lot and adding up a whole lot to her vocabulary and it’s fun to interpret words her way 🙂

The World Never Seemed More Cute Before 🙂

The Little Buddha

The world never seemed more cute :-)

The world never seemed more cute 🙂

About Madhavi

Mompreneur | Blogger | Painter | ... and on most days I am all of these and more if I manage to shake off the lazy air around me. I love reading and listening to human stories of survival, of creating a niche, of achievements and successes. I love it more when it is not a celebrity, when it is people around us. And even more striking when it is women. I love travelling and believe that essentially every human being is more or less the same, there is much more goodness and kindness in this world than what is made out to be and irrespective of territorial borders across the world, at a human level.. everyone wants just that... peace of mind and a home to belong. Utopian you think?! Nah! trust me.. it is a wonderful world out there.
This entry was posted in Mother and Child and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment