Moina-logue :-)

In the past few months I have been irregular in chronicling Moina’s developments and my journey with her.

It was not for any other reason except that I have been caught up. Caught up at work, and a bit of home and just running out of energy. Another reason for this slow movement on the blog is Moina’s increasing attraction for all things electronic and that includes the laptop. She is drawn to it like a bee to a flower and there is no way on earth that I can use it to do anything else except showing her Masha and the Bear 😉

Image courtesy: 02varvara.wordpress.com

Image courtesy: 02varvara.wordpress.com

So anyways, the lil’ lady is growing by the day. She is a jabber… a delightful jabber at that, i wouldn’t deny. Of late she has started a new questionnaire: every ten minutes she will look at my face and ask, “Mumma, Happy?” And if the ‘Happy’ is not happening and even if it happens is not accompanied by a genuine smile, the lil’ lady wells up in tears and I am like one molten cube of ice.

Moina has taken a super liking for drawing… guess all kids do. Well, I am hinting at a bit of history. I paint. Did I ever tell you I paint? Well, I do. And when Moina was really little, almost a year old and a bit more, I painted the entrance to my home and the door of her room. Guess, she remembers all of that. If Mommy can paint on the wall and the door, so can I and so she did… My home today is doodled… all over… the ceiling has been spared for obvious reasons… but every other nook and cranny has surrendered to her pencil box. And the television has not been spared too… nail paint, crayons and all the don’ts have gone up there…facepalm moment and moments of real anger and desperation on my end and nothing but innocence from hers.

Moina's door

Our entrance

Moina's and her palette

Her tryst with the running nose continues… have entered the second year of nosey and and I am close to inventing a tissue roll holder right below her nostrils… Vitamins, minerals, all food groups, pediasures, steam and what nots have all continued. Now I have stopped fretting… have I? I don’t know. Can a mother ever stop fretting… I don’t think so.

Have enrolled Rishika into a Kuchipudi dance class… not that I want to make her a dancer or something… it’s just that someone is visiting the apartment premises to teach and I thought why not 🙂 and it’s adorable how she and the other kids of the apartment are taking to it. Aren’t they just adorable… these tiny tots.

I learnt something from my mother the other day about dealing with these little minds. So I used to keep nagging her to pick up her toys and her stuff and it all fell on deaf ears and a cold stare that made me gasp…”Abhi Se?” “Already?” And then Mom comes to the rescue. She said don’t always order or instruct. Make them feel that you need them and their help and request them the way you would to another adult to help you around the house. I did. I told her, “Moina, can you please help Mumma to clean up the room baby?” And pat came the reply with a smile, “You want me to help you Mumma? I will help you Mumma.” And she pottered behind me to pick up everything and clear the mess. Now every night she comes and tells me, “Mumma come lets decorate the house.” And I go AWWWWWWW and I also go THANK YOU MOM.

Toy

Summer holidays are here and I work full time. My brain is working overtime to see how I can keep her busy… ideas anyone? She stays at home with her granny and a nanny.

Take care everyone. Leaving you with Summer colours:

Indian Summer

About Madhavi

Mompreneur | Blogger | Painter | ... and on most days I am all of these and more if I manage to shake off the lazy air around me. I love reading and listening to human stories of survival, of creating a niche, of achievements and successes. I love it more when it is not a celebrity, when it is people around us. And even more striking when it is women. I love travelling and believe that essentially every human being is more or less the same, there is much more goodness and kindness in this world than what is made out to be and irrespective of territorial borders across the world, at a human level.. everyone wants just that... peace of mind and a home to belong. Utopian you think?! Nah! trust me.. it is a wonderful world out there.
This entry was posted in Mother and Child and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Moina-logue :-)

  1. Diptee says:

    That is beautiful. Oh and I love the way you’ve doodled around the house. Lovely!

  2. Nishi says:

    Hi I just read two of ur articles n its amazing …. I must say the way its written its become so interesting to read & I am a very poor reader but than also I picked up your next article & found the other one also equally good, Keep writing 🙂

    • Madhavi says:

      Thanks Nishi so much for stopping by and for those compliments. Big motivation. Hope we see you around here more often 🙂 and I can delight you more. Take care.

Leave a comment